Adventures in Yonderland

A log of my adventures, both real and imagined.

Thoughts on Study Abroad


My study abroad experience has been interesting so far, to say the least. I learn things every day and I never feel like there is nothing to do. In fact, there seems at times to be too much to do! Still, I do want to say one thing about living here so far.

Study Abroad isn’t necessarily learning about another country. I mean, I sincerely hope that you open your ears and eyes to the country around you, there are a lot of things that are simply fascinating. But that’s not all of it. What I don’t think is emphasized is what Study Abroad actually does do. It teaches you how to live. I mean, like, you have to re-learn how to interact with people a bit. You have to learn what is normal and acceptable and what is not. For me, I have to learn how to take care of myself, where to get food and how to prepare it. This isn’t just an experience centered around learning about another language or another culture: that you can do at home. This is about learning how to LIVE in another culture. And I don’t know if I can really express what all that means.

But I imagine, I’ll be telling you all about it this year.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

