Adventures in Yonderland

A log of my adventures, both real and imagined.

That Feeling You Get When You Learn Something Without Looking For It


So today was interesting. For a variety of reasons. First, I went to the market and paid 2 euro for like a full day/meals worth of food. Still can’t get over that, it’s just too awesome. Second, I watched/finished that show I have been rather obsessively viewing, baccano!. And strangely enough, I learned something. Something important.

You see, most people go through their hard-core self-discovery phase in high school. They rebel against ideals, ideas, rules, whatever. I should say that I’m really over-generalizing here. But that’s the stereotype and, to an extent, that’s very true. I didn’t really go through that. I mean, I did, but it wasn’t revolutionary. Not even close.

So here I find myself. Two years of college that have begun a search for what I really do believe. Who I am going to be, what I’m going to agree with. It’s gotten progressively stronger until I’ve been put into a place where I have questioned everything I can think of.

And that doesn’t really help you a lot with the whole “identity” thing. I mean, if you question the most core parts of your belief…it can be hard. Especially when every decision I make regarding what I want to do with my life has the potential to drastically affect the rest of my life, so what if I make a mistake? I mean, that’s the fear, isn’t it?

But I watched this show, which was awesome, and it answered my question. The question I’ve been asking this whole time, “what is most important?” Because if I know the answer to that question, I will know who I need to be. And that show, through some miracle, provided the answer. I will share it with you.

First: Be good. Be a good person. Be a “good-guy.”

Second: Be happy. Smile. Enjoy. That’s what life is all about.

Third: Protect the Good. Protect what is Good. In such cases it is okay to lay everything on the line for good people and for Good itself.

Fourth: Protect those weaker than you. Because who else is going to?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “That Feeling You Get When You Learn Something Without Looking For It

  1. Seeking to understand self increases your emotional intelligence and self awareness – both are needed to be successful. Very thoughtful words.

Leave a Reply

