Adventures in Yonderland

A log of my adventures, both real and imagined.

Home


One thing I’m learning about being abroad is Home. If you’ve never left Home, then you’re like me back before I left mine for University. And that’s interesting to me because as a child I moved around quite a bit. I will never know what it’s like to stay in one place your “whole life” (aka, your childhood). But I never left Home as a child.

I know right? You’re probably thinking “say what?” But it’s true.

You see what I’m learning about Home is that it isn’t where you are that makes a Home. Walls make houses, but it’s the people inside the walls that make a Home. Home is where you are safe inside a bubble of love. It can be yours, your family’s, your friends’ but at the end of the day, it’s not the walls or the state or the country that make a Home.

It’s you. And who is with you.

I think that’s what they always meant by “Home is where the Heart is.” ‘Cause right now, I carry my Home with me. Like a backpack or a ribcage. It exists nowhere in space. Just where I am. Right there on the left side, two winks down from the shoulder. My Home is sitting right there in my Heart. And maybe that will change someday. But for now, that’s where I am.

And I’m glad. Because I can take it with me while I’m away.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

